Layout Grid (for development purposes)


SGA president elected to LSU Board of Supervisors

Released: 05/19/2006

Connie R. Cooper, president of LSU Alexandria’s Student Government Association, has been elected to serve as the student representative on the LSU Board of Supervisors.

An English major from Alexandria, Cooper will serve a one-year term.

The Board of Supervisors serves as the management board for the Louisiana State University System. The board is composed of 16 members: two members are appointed from each congressional district and one member from the state at large. As provided by the Louisiana Constitution, the board has a student member who serves a one-year term.

Cooper was elected to this prestigious position during the May 15-16 meeting of the Council of Student Body Presidents in Alexandria. COSBP is composed of student body presidents of public higher education institutions in Louisiana.

“I’m very pleased that Connie Cooper has been recognized in this way,” LSUA Chancellor Dr. Robert Cavanaugh said. “She is an outstanding student and an outstanding Student Government Association president, and I’ve been extremely proud of the way she has represented LSUA and our students.”

Cooper said she is honored to serve on the board.

“Being elected to the LSU Board of Supervisors is a great accomplishment, not just for me personally, but for LSU at Alexandria and I am excited about the opportunity to represent my university in this capacity,” she said. “I am honored to have been elected by my peers to serve each student body at the respective institutions that comprise the LSU System as well. My commitment and strongest desire is to serve the students in the LSU System equally and to the best of my ability”.

LSU Alexandria students first elected Cooper SGA president in 2005. She was recently elected to serve another term to lead the LSUA student body.

After she earns a bachelor’s degree from LSUA, Cooper plans to pursue a juris doctorate and Masters of Public Administration and work to improve public policy. She is considered a “non-traditional” college student in that she was a little older and raising a son when she enrolled.

“I decided that I wanted more options and the ability to attain my goals, including career advancement,” Cooper said. She took a look at several universities before making her final choice in LSU Alexandria. “It turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. There’s a place for everybody here,” she said.

She has been a member of the LSUA SGA since 2004. Her various roles in COSBP include executive board member/secretary in 2005-06, Grievance Committee member in 2005-06 and Executive Board member in 2006-07. As an SGA and COSBP member, Cooper lobbied the Louisiana Legislature for Higher Education and established a Student Disaster Relief Committee.

She is on numerous university committees: Student Technology Fee Committee, Planning Council Committee, Enrollment Management and Retention Committee, Information Technology Advisory Committee, Operation of the Student Center Committee, Grievance Committee and Admissions and Standards Committee.

Cooper is a member of Gamma Beta Phi Honor Society and the LSUA Alumni and Friends Association, and she is a founding member of the Alpha Mu Iota Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta International English Honor Society.

She recently chaired a committee to develop a mascot for LSU Alexandria.

Cooper received numerous honors including: State of Louisiana Book Festival Scholarship Recipient in 2004; Mary Jane Brown Memorial Scholarship Recipient for 2005-06; Chancellor’s Scholarship Recipient, 2005-2006; Charles E. Williams II Advanced Leadership Institute Scholarship Recipient, 2005-2006; LSU Board of Supervisors Scholarship Recipient, 2005-2006; Dean’s List, Spring 2005; Certificate and Recognition of Outstanding Service as a Student Leader Award, 2005; Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, 2006.