Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Sanson elected La. Historical Association president

Released: 06/01/2005

LSU Alexandria history and political science professor Dr. Jerry Sanson has been elected president of the Louisiana Historical Association.

Sanson, who has been on the faculty since 1988, was elected during the association’s March meeting in Lafayette. His term will run through March 2006.

“I was deeply honored to be nominated and elected to the presidency,” Sanson said. “It is a mark of recognition from fellow academic historians that I have contributed to the study of Louisiana history and that my contributions have been worthwhile.”

Sanson, a native of Alexandria and resident of Deville, attended LSU Alexandria before earning his undergraduate degree from Louisiana College. He earned his master’s and doctoral degrees from LSU.

Sanson has published two books and numerous articles. His academic expertise is in Louisiana history, the New South after Reconstruction and 20th century America.

He has been involved with the LHA since 1976 when he was in graduate school. He most recently served as its vice president, and has held other offices and committee positions.

The LHA was organized in the late 19th century, and then reorganized in Alexandria in 1960, Sanson said. Its membership is open to professional historians as well as anyone interested in Louisiana history. As a result, members are from all parts of the United States and other countries. The association had 1,075 members as of 2004.

The organization holds an annual meeting and publishes a quarterly journal and quarterly newsletter that keeps members apprised of the latest developments in Louisiana history. The association also plans to become more involved in the Louisiana History Bee, Sanson said.

For information on the LHA, visit the Web site

Sanson’s appointment to the state position is significant both for the university and for Central Louisiana.

“Having the president of the LHA on campus enhances LSUA’s academic reputation,” he said. “It also is a good mark for all of central Louisiana because no president of the LHA since the association’s reorganization in 1960 has been from any of the central region of the state.”

Three other LSU Alexandria employees are members of the LHA. They are Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Thomas Armstrong and history faculty members Dr. Henry Robertson and Dr. James Rogers. Robertson is chair of the association’s Nominations Committee.