Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Nursing graduates pinned in ceremony

Released: 05/20/2005

Forty-eight LSU Alexandria nursing graduates participated in a traditional nurse pinning ceremony Thursday on campus.

The associate degree nursing graduates chose retiring faculty member Linda Ainsworth to be the ceremony’s guest speaker. Ainsworth, an associate professor of nursing, joined the LSU Alexandria faculty in 1987. The Spring 2005 semester was her last to teach.

Ainsworth has more than 40 years experience in the field of nursing. Her career includes clinical experience at facilities in Alaska, Texas, Georgia and Louisiana. After receiving the Master of Science in Nursing from the University of Texas at El Paso in 1984, Ainsworth taught at Howard County Community College in Big Spring, Texas, before joining LSUA.

“After many years of qualifying clinical experience, I found that teaching nursing was a wonderful way to experience the best of both worlds – continuing excellent patient care while nurturing aspiring young potential nurses,” Ainsworth said. “I have experienced great satisfaction in the practice of nursing and continually attempt to inspire my students with my love of the profession.”

On May 12, Ainsworth was named the recipient of the Nurse Educator of the Year Award from the Alexandria District Nurses Association.

In addition to asking that Ainsworth be the program’s guest speaker, the nursing students also requested to have Ainsworth announce their names as they were called to the stage for the traditional pinning ceremony.

The graduates received their pins from Dorothy Lary, chair of the Department of Nursing at LSU Alexandria. They then participated in the traditional candle-lighting ceremony and recited the Nightingale Pledge in honor of Florence Nightingale, a pioneer and reformer of the nursing profession. The pledge is a variation of the Hippocratic Oath taken by physicians and a traditional part of pinning ceremonies dating back to the 1800s.

The graduates who participated in the ceremony include Virginia Elaine Coleman Byon, Clara Gwandiku, Jeánne Davis Karam, Tanagla Sherelle Martin Morse, Rhonda King Saizan and Quanasha L. Small, all of Alexandria; Kimberly Humbles Adam of Ball; Charles L. Fowler III of Boyce; Kory Joseph Redmon of Bunkie; Stacy Celestine of Chataignier; Kimberly Dawn LaCour-Jones of Colfax; Kristen Marie Devillier of Cottonport; Cindy Lou DeLeon and Debra A. Fontenot, both of DeRidder; Amber LeJeune, Paula D. Sayer and Quintin Craig Smith, all of Deville.

Also, Elizabeth Logan of Dry Prong; Robyn Marie Shaw of Elmer; Stephanie K. Johnson of Glenmora; Rachel Dunbar Milligan of Hessmer; Brandy Jo Brian and Vonde McClure, both of Jena; Amy Elizabeth Brunson of Jonesboro; Michael Anthony Beaubouef of Leesville; Landa Richard of Mamou; Jamie Ann Bernard of Mansura; Claire Dupuy Builodeau and Hanna Leigh Ferrington Crawford, both of Marksville; Jessica Lynette Fowler of Montgomery; Courtney L. Reed of Oakdale; Sara Goree Chapman of Pine Prairie.

Also, Isaly Monica Shanté Almanza, Amy Barnidge, Summer Suzanne Brown, Lisa Lorraine Bullock, Melissa Bordelon Dancer, Brandin Lynn Frost, G. Chris Prestridge and Joseph M. Stokes, all of Pineville; Jessica Kristine Amsden and Mary Delcomyn Futrell, both of Pollock; Angelika Alford of Ridgecrest; Natalie Kaye Brignac, Jeanella Ann Rubin Williams, Holly Ann Soileau and Jeffrey Wade Veillon, all of Ville Platte; and Rebecca Mayeaux Dear of Woodworth.