Layout Grid (for development purposes)

LSUA HEADLINES

Beat the Devil presented Feb. 16 and Feb. 18 on campus

Released: 02/10/2005

LSU Alexandria students, faculty and staff and the public are invited to special showings of the 1953 classic <em>“Beat the Devil”</em> on campus next week.

The movie will be presented in the Coughlin Hall Auditorium at 3 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 16, and 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 18. Admission is free.

The event begins the LSU Alexandria Spring 2005 Film Series of classics that will be shown on campus through April, said Dr. Eamon Halpin, chairman of the Chancellor’s Arts and Humanities Committee which sponsors the events.

<em>“Beat the Devil”</em> is directed by John Huston and stars Humphrey Bogart, Jennifer Jones, Gina Lollobrigida and Peter Lorre.

Other movies to be presented at LSU Alexandria this semester are <em>“Charade,”</em> scheduled for 3 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 23, and 7 p.m. Friday, Feb. 25; <em>“One-Eyed Jack,”</em> scheduled for 3 p.m. Wednesday, March 9, and 7 p.m. Friday, March 11; <em>“His Girl Friday,”</em> 3 p.m. Wednesday, March 30, and 7 p.m. Friday, April 1; <em>“Charlie Chan in Paris,”</em> 3 p.m. Wednesday, April 13, and 7 p.m. Friday, April 15; and <em>“Suddenly,”</em> 3 p.m. Wednesday, April 27, and 7 p.m. Friday, April 29.