Layout Grid (for development purposes)



Released: 05/21/2004

Forty-seven LSU Alexandria nursing graduates participated in a traditional nurse pinning ceremony on Thursday, May 20 immediately following the Spring Commencement exercises.

The 47 graduates received their pins from Pat Franks, MSN, RN, interim chair of the Department of Nursing at LSU Alexandria. The graduates participated in the traditional candle lighting ceremony and recited the Nightingale Pledge in honor of Florence Nightingale, a pioneer and reformer of the nursing profession. The Nightingale Pledge is a variation of the Hippocratic Oath taken by physicians and is a traditional part of pinning ceremonies dating back to the 1800's.

Graduates participating in the ceremony included Mazie P. Adams of Abbeville, Carla F. Allain of Simpson, Windi M. Ardoin of Pine Prairie, Kristin H. Broadway of Alexandria, Mary L. Broady of Alexandria, Michelle N. Burnaman of Pollock, Tricia A. Clark of Oakdale, Jerri K. Cox of Pineville, Mitchell S. Crawford of Pineville, Knakita De’De’ of Alexandria, Christy L. Deshotel of Ville Platte, Melody A. Deslatte of Alexandria, Jennifer Duos of Oakdale, and Robin M. Easley of Pineville.

Also, Jennifer Favor of Alexandria, Katie S. Fitzgerald of Marksville, Abby J. Fontenot of Ville Platte, Vickie L. Gauthier of Cottonport, Kristy R. Green of Pineville, Frances D. Guinn of Deville, Melissa N. Harris of Pollock, Yvette M. Hebert of Raynes, Hannah L. Howarth of Boyce, Melissa H. Jackson of Dry Prong, Stephanie D. Johnson of Pineville, Melissa M. Kendrew of Colfax, Brenda H. Lanaux of Alexandria, Felicia M. Lastrapes of Washington, Jodie H. Mallette of Pineville, Melissa A. Marshall or Woodworth, Kelly S. Matthews of Alexandria, Veronica J. Mayeux of Marksville, Mary K. Monroe of Simpson, Tammy A. Perron of Mamou, and Julie A. Reed of Ville Platte.

Also, Elizabeth Stagg of Breaux Bridge, Gerry L. Street of Elmer, Amy H. Teal of Woodworth, Jeffery E. Thomas of Forest Hill, Brandy B. Thorning of Leesville, Rhonda J. Timberlake of Pollock, Jamie F. Vickers of Jena, Tonia D. Villali of Pollock, Kathleen Weatherford of Hineston, Stephanie D. Williams of Alexandria, Connie L. Wilson of Alexandria and Rosalyn B. Winfrey of Opelousas.