Layout Grid (for development purposes)



Released: 04/30/1998

<p> Louisiana State University at Alexandria (LSUA) presented over 115 awards to 85 students during its 36th Annual Honors Day Convocation held on Monday, April 27, 1998. Dr. Patsy Jenkins, superintendent of schools for the Rapides Parish School District, presented the convocation address. </p><p> The Colonel W. R. Middleton Memorial Award for outstanding service to the University and community was presented to sophomore Frances Alexandria Beaubouef of Deville. The Middleton Award is the highest honor given to an LSUA student. </p><p> The LSU Outstanding Senior College Student award was presented to Tracy Renae Johnson of Pollock by Janice Guillory, director LSU Teacher Education program at LSUA. </p><p> Awards were presented to students for outstanding service in the community. Sophomore-plus Heidi Peavy of Hessmer received the U.S. Army Nurse Corps Spirit of Nursing Award. </p><p> Dr. Robert Cavanaugh, chancellor, presented certificates to students who were named to Who&acute;s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. Students from Avoyelles were sophomore-plus Brenda Doyle of Marksville, sophomore April Laborde of Marksville, sophomore-plus James Lacombe of Marksville, and sophomore-plus Heidi Peavy of Hessmer. </p><p> Freshman Patricia Lopez of Cottonport received a certificate in recognition of outstanding service as a student leader in the campus organization, Empty Space Players. Also, sophomore April Laborde of Marksville was recognized for her work with the Student Government Association. </p><p> Dr. Randall Stovall, vice chancellor for academic affairs, presented a medal to Freshman Rusty Dauzat of Marksville for academic excellence in chemistry. </p><p> Dr. Stovall also presented certificates for academic excellence to both full and part-time students who had maintained a 3.5 grade point average or above. Students are classified as full-time when enrolled in 12 or more credit hours per semester. Part-time students are those enrolled in 6-11 credit hours per semester. </p><p> Full-time freshmen honored were, Amy-Lynn Barrere of Hessmer, Carey Coco of Cottonport, Rusty Dauzat of Marksville, Erin Desselle of Moreauville, Amy McNeal of Marksville, and Glen Sxczechowski of Marksville. </p><p> Sophomores enrolled full-time receiving certificates were Britni Gisclair of Cottonport, Jeremiah Honea of Plaucheville and June Michot of Bunkie. </p><p> Sophomore Jason Dupont of Plaucheville, received a certificate for academic excellence for maintaining a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) or above while enrolled part-time. </p><p> Jeremiah Honea of Plaucheville was presented a medal as one of two sophomore students enrolled full-time with the highest GPA. </p><p> Mr. Raymond Boswell, director of student aid and scholarships presented scholarships to 11 students during the ceremony. Receiving an honor award to Louisiana State University was Britni Gisclair of Cottonport </p>