Layout Grid (for development purposes)



Released: 05/21/1998

<p> Four special awards were presented during LSUA&acute;s Spring Commencement on May 21. The LSUA Distinguished Service Award was given to a community leader and endowed professorships were awarded to faculty members in three disciplines. </p><p> The LSUA Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual from the central Louisiana community who has demonstrated outstanding service to LSUA. The criteria include active participation in efforts to promote the advancement and support of LSUA, recognition as a leader throughout the community, interest in the quality of education provided by LSUA, an exemplary record of service to higher education and to the community at large, and contributions of time, talents and/or financial resources to benefit the University. </p><p>

Dr. Robert Cavanaugh, chancellor, presented the Distinguished Service Award to Mrs. Frances Bolton Davis of Alexandria. Mrs. Davis has been a member of the Louisiana State University at Alexandria Foundation Board of Directors for six years. She served as president of the Board in 1994 and 1995 and continues to serve as an active member of the Foundation&acute;s committee to oversee the LSUA Child Care Center project. Mrs. Davis has followed in the philanthropic footsteps of her parents, James C. Bolton and Frances Sample Bolton. The LSUA Library is named for her father, and the prestigious Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence was established through her mother&acute;s estate. </p><p> Dr. and Mrs. Davis are also charter members of the Friends of the LSUA Bolton Library. </p><p> "Fran&acute;s willingness to work hands-on with projects is what makes her most deserving of this award," said Cavanaugh. "She has taken a lead role in the Campus Child Care Center project and has offered valuable insight and assistance to the process. Her financial support and contributions as a volunteer have gone above and beyond anything ever expected." </p><p> Three endowed professorships were presented to faculty members by Mr. Scott Brame, LSUA Foundation president. Endowed professorships are designed to encourage and reward outstanding teaching, scholarly activity and contributions to LSUA and the community by providing a salary supplement and funds for equipment, travel and faculty development. Recipients are selected by a campus committee and will hold the professorship for 2 years. </p><p> This is the first year the Huie Dellmon Trust Endowed Professorship in Liberal Arts and Sciences was awarded. Dr. Jerry Sanson of Deville was presented this honor. </p><p> Dr. Sanson serves as professor of history and political science and is also the coordinator of the LSU baccalaureate degree program in general studies at LSUA. He has more than 10 years of teaching experience at LSUA and plans to use this professorship to help fund his research for a book on Louisiana during the pivatol year of 1929. He chose this period for his research to help fill in a gap in the history of the state and to promote the study of Louisiana history state wide. </p><p> The Roy O. Martin Lumber Company Endowed Professorship in nursing was awarded to Sue Haynes of Alexandria. Mrs. Haynes holds the rank of associate professor of nursing and has been at LSUA for more than 22 years. Using the funds from the professorship, she plans to develop a model program to help nursing faculty integrate technology into their classroom presentation. </p><p> The recipient of the Mark Eugene Howard Endowed Professorship in Liberal Arts was Dr. Seth Bovey of Alexandria. Dr. Bovey has taught at LSUA for 6 years and serves as an associate professor of English. He plans to use the professorship funds for professional development to enhance his roles as "teacher, scholar and student of the English language." </p><p> A reception was held following commencement in honor of these special award recipients. </p>