Layout Grid (for development purposes)

LSUA HEADLINES

LSUA OFFERS CONCEALED HANDGUN COURSE

Released: 06/28/2000

<p> The Louisiana State University at Alexandria Division of Continuing Education and Technology will offer the Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit Course on Wednesday and Thursday, July 5 and 6 from 5:45 p.m. until 9:15 p.m. The fee for the course is $70. </p><p> Individuals applying to the Department of Public Safety for a permit to carry a concealed weapon must demonstrate competence with a handgun. This course is approved by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections to meet that requirement of the law. Other requirements will be explained during the 9 hour course which includes 7 hours of classroom instruction, 2 hours of actual live range fire, and proper handgun cleaning procedures. Officer John Lummus, a Peace Officer Standards and Training certified instructor, will teach the course. </p><p> For more information or to register, contact the Division of Continuing Education and Technology at 473-6495. </p>