Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Students Earn Academic Recognition at Honors Convocation

Released: 05/03/2013

Middleton Awards – the most prestigious recognition LSU Alexandria bestows upon students – were awarded to three students at the university’s 51st annual Honors Convocation. The award is presented to students in the name of the late Col. W. R. Middleton, a legendary assistant professor of geology and counselor on the original LSUA faculty.

Middleton Award winners were Nathan Jacob Lewellyn, a senior from Sunset; Keisha Swafford, a junior from Alexandria; and Giovanni Rueda, a sophomore from Ball. The award is presented to full-time students based on leadership, service and academic achievement. Middleton Award recipients receive a $500 scholarship and plaque.

The university awarded Academic Excellence Medals to full- and part-time students who hold the highest grade point average in each class. Medal winners for each class were as follows:

Full-time Freshmen – Christopher Dillon Kiehl, Alexandria; Charles Thaddeus Descant, Bunkie; Melissa Lynn Windham, Jena; Nasiba Taimuri, Leesville; and Mandy Lynn Kubes, Tioga; Part-time Freshman – Tiffany Skye Fuller, Dry Prong;

Full-time Sophomores – Heidi Elizabeth Barron and Luke W. Hess, Pineville; Marjorie W. Hodges, Jacqueline Scott Lanning, and Marina Taylor Ruoppoli, Alexandria; Part-time Sophomores – Amy K. Basco, Marksville;

Full-time Juniors – Wesley Paul Wilkes, Hamburg. Part-time Juniors –Holly Michelle Borland, Deville;

Full-time Seniors –Miranda Hope Deville, Deville. Part-time Seniors –Veronica Layne Fralick, Dry Prong;

Certificates for Academic Excellence, which are earned by students in each class who have maintained a minimum 3.7 GPA, were awarded to the following:

Freshman Awards – Haley E. Guillory, Kesha Joy Hill, John Darron Hunsaker, Alexandria; Ladashi Lanae Martin, Alexandria; Tabitha Jean Morris, Anacoco; Brittany Paige Jenkins, Cheneyville; Leslie Joanna Chavez and Veronica Leticia Rubio, Forest Hill; Carli Alyece Smith, Jena; Rachel Lynne Guy, Lecompte; Brandon Chase Miller, Oak Ridge; Marilyn Marie Burns, Karen Lynn Deville, Robin Renee Watkins, and Amanda Rose Wood, Pineville; and Robin Elizabeth Holmes, Pollock;

Sophomore Awards – Nasha Dashawn Moore and Korilyn Barras Sicuro, Alexandria; Lori Stacey Reynolds, Centerpoint; Lauren Adaire Ducote, Cottonport; Michelle Catherine Smith, Deville; Sherry Ryland Dauzat, Effie; Jenna Marie Coco, Hamburg; Courtney Lynn Bordelon and Lacey Laborde, Hessmer; James Logan Wells, Hineston; Charlene Renee Charrier, Libuse; Brittany Marie LaGrange, Mansura; Chad Dauzat and Taylar Brooke McNeece, Marksville; Brian D. Phillips, Pineville; and Luke Morrison, Sieper;

Junior Awards – Dillon B. Henderson, Alexandria; Felicity Noel Gremillion and Andrea Nicole Guillory, Ball; Lara Hope Duncan, Forest Hill; and Bethany L. Fontenot, Pineville;

Senior Awards – Cynthia Chapman Callahan, Aubrey Lee Madewell, Anna Jane Mizell, and Shelby Paige Rice, Alexandria; Emily Jane Blaney, Deville; Ann Celeste Mitchell, Forest Hill; Sherise Ann Gordon, Glenmora; Ashton Suzette Merchant, Hineston; Olivia Michelle Normand, Libuse; Calla Paige Willoughby, Morgan City; Elizabeth Ann Strother, Oakdale; Allison Renee Alegria, Kimberly Jane Byer and Meagan L. Henagan, Pineville; Nathan Jacob Lewellyn, Sunset; Bobby Wadzeck, Ville Platte; and Bobi Sue Delaney, Woodworth;

Academic Discipline Medals, which are awarded to students with a minimum 2.5 GPA, nine credit hours in the discipline and who have demonstrated “outstanding competence and potential,” were won by the following:

Accounting – Olivia Michelle Normand, Libuse;

Biological Sciences – Aston Merchant, Hineston;

Chemistry –Jessica Young, Bush;

Clinical Laboratory Technician – Jennie Marie Carver, Plaucheville;

Communication Studies –Keisha Swafford, Alexandria;

Computer Information Systems – Bobbie Jo McManus, Alexandria;

Criminal Justice –Miranda H. Deville, Deville;

Early Childhood Education - Meagan Clark, Dry Prong;

Elementary Education - Bobi Sue Delaney, Woodworth;

English – Brandy R. Williams, Otis;

Fine Arts – Jacqueline Scott Lanning, Alexandria;

History - Brandy Marshall, Ball;

Kinesiology - Sarah Taylor, Glenmora;

Management – Stormy Mundy, Alexandria;

Marketing – Brittney Ducote, Pineville;

Mass Communication – Nathan Jacob Lewellyn, Sunset;

Mathematics – Wesley Wilkes, Hamburg;

Nursing – Associate Level - Sherry Dauzat, Effie;

Nursing – Bachelor Level - Cynthia Callahan, Alexandria.

Pharmacy Technology – Alicia Myers, Glenmora;

Radiologic Technology – Casie Skinner Wilson, Libuse;

Political Science - Bethany Fontenot, Pineville;

Psychology - Mercedes Gremillion, Woodworth;

Secondary Education - Shelby Rice, Alexandria;

Secondary Education in Mathematics - Kayla Tolbert, Jonesville;

Special Education - Sherise Gordon, Glenmora;

Outstanding juniors and seniors were also recognized by Who’s Who among Students in American Colleges and Universities. Those students were Amy Arnold Allemand, Amber Lynn Andrus, Bobi Sue Delaney, Alicia N. Elie, Bethany Juanita Gattis, Caitlin C. Greene, Dena Griffin, Ginger King, Kimberlye Christina Langston, Ann Celeste Mitchell, Matthew Roberts, and Courtney Smith.

Dr. Susan Sullivan, associate professor in the Department of Biological Sciences, delivered the keynote convocation address. The event was coordinated by Dr. Seth Bovey, professor of English.