Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Nichols named Ms. LSU Alexandria 2013

Released: 04/15/2013

Kaitlyn Gayle Nichols, a freshman biology major from Gulfport, MS, was crowned Ms. LSU Alexandria at the 53rd annual pageant on Saturday, April 13. She will receive a $1,000 scholarship and represent LSU Alexandria at official university functions during the 2013-2014 academic year.

Nichols, whose pageant platform topic was, “From Tragedy to Triumph: The Inspiration of Brandon Goyne” is a member of the LSU Alexandria Student Ambassadors, Baptist Collegiate Ministries, and the Biological Student Organization.

Evie G. Robison, a sophomore nursing major from Alexandria, was chosen first runner-up and will receive a $500 scholarship. She also captured the Scholastic Achievement award.

Rachael Claire Fruge’, a junior nursing major from Opelousas, was selected second runner-up. Ms. Fruge’ received the Top Ad Sales award and was also chosen as People’s Choice. Taylor Marie Barbin, a sophomore education major from Mansura won the Director’s Award. Susan Coco LaPrairie, a freshman nursing major from Tioga won Ms. Congeniality. Elizabeth Monique Pastor, a sophomore nursing major from Pineville won Ms. Photogenic.

Contestants competed in casual and formal wear categories and participated in a pre-pageant interview with a three-member panel of judges from the community. The Ms. LSUA Pageant, which is open to any female student, has been held annually since 1961. Kathryn Wimmert, an academic and personal counselor in the Office of Student Services, was the pageant director.

Jalyn Chante’ Ashley, a sophomore nursing major from Alexandria who served as Ms. LSU Alexandria 2012-2013, passed the crown to Nichols.