Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Sullivan takes LSUA top teaching award, Gauthier and Lair earn staff honors

Released: 03/27/2012

Dr. Susan K. Sullivan, associate professor of biology, received the Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence at LSU Alexandria during the Employee Recognition Dinner on March 23. The Bolton Award is the highest honor bestowed upon a faculty member at the university.

Sullivan has been teaching at LSU Alexandria since 2001. She holds a Ph.D. in Genetics from the University of Georgia and often has undergraduates working with her on antibiotic activity of the bacteria found on leaf cutter ants. She was recently accepted into the exclusive American Society for Microbiology/Biology Scholars Transitions Residency to be held this summer in Washington D.C. Sullivan also received the Huie Dellmon Trust Endowed Professorship in Liberal Arts and Science during the program.

The Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence was made possible by a gift from the estate of Mrs. James C. Bolton. Mrs. Frances Bolton Davis, a long-time supporter of LSU Alexandria and former president of the LSUA Foundation, established the award in 1988. Presented annually to an outstanding faculty member, the Bolton Award is the university’s highest faculty honor. The recipient receives a plaque and a cash award.

Dewayne Lair and Heather Gauthier earned the Staff Outstanding Service Awards, the top honor for staff members. Lair won in the Skilled Crafts, Service, Maintenance division. According to his nomination, “Dewayne goes the extra mile to make sure everything is immaculate…He is polite and friendly and helps to keep everyone smiling and happy to be a part of LSUA.” Gauthier won in the All Other Categories division. She is an Information Tech Support Analyst. Her nominator wrote “Heather stepped up when the budget cuts hit LSUA…learned new job duties…can rely on her…most faculty and staff ask her first on where to go next in their pursuits of certain technological answers.”

Other awards presented during the event include Service Learning Certificates, the Boss of the Year Award, Teaching Innovation Awards and 10 Endowed Professorships.

Service Learning Certificates were awarded to Cathy Cormier, Cathy Denison, Dolores Harris, Sheryl Herring, Kim Herrington, Linda Hickman, Katrina Jordan, Callum Johnston, Melissa LaBorde, Kionna LeMalle, Fred Litton, Susan Myrick, Melissa Parks, Cathy Robinson, Debbie Smith, and Robert Wright. Lynette Burlew, Director of Human Resource Management, was presented the Staff Senate Boss of the Year Award, and the Teaching Innovation Award was presented to Ann Chevalier.

In addition to Sullivan’s endowed professorship, nine others received endowed professorships which are competitive awards for faculty members. The F. Hugh Coughlin Endowed Professorship was awarded to Alicia Book. The Howard M. and Eloise Ferris Mulder Endowed Professorship was awarded to M. Sultan Parvez. The Jack and Sue Ellen Jackson Endowed Professorship was awarded to Freddie Litton. The Cliff E. Laborde, Sr. Endowed Professorship was awarded to Kionna LeMalle. The Barbara M. Martin Endowed Professorship in Nursing was presented to Debra Smith while the Roy and Vinita Martin Endowed Professorship in Math and Sciences went to Elisabeth Elder. The Carolyn Cole Saunders Endowed Professorship went to Mary Kay Sunderhaus. The Henry Dade Foote Family Endowed Professorship went to Christof Stumpf and the Vinita Johnson Martin Endowed Professorship was awarded to Tanya Melton.