Layout Grid (for development purposes)



Released: 12/18/2003

Thirty-eight LSU Alexandria nursing graduates participated in a traditional nurse pinning ceremony on Thursday, December 18 immediately following the Fall Commencement exercises. <p> Patricia Eike, MSN, RN, Nurse Executive for the Veteran’s Administration Hospital served as guest speaker for the program. She spoke to a standing-room only crowd of the graduates’ families and friends in the F. Hugh Coughlin Hall Auditorium. </p><p>The 38 graduates received their pins from Dr. Sandra Tucker, RN, JD, chair of the Department of Nursing at LSU Alexandria. They then participated in the traditional candle lighting ceremony and recited the Nightingale Pledge in honor of Florence Nightingale, a pioneer and reformer of the nursing profession. The Nightingale Pledge is a variation of the Hippocratic Oath taken by physicians and is a traditional part of pinning ceremonies dating back to the 1800&apos;s. </p><p>The nursing graduates conducted a fundraising project over the semester and used the proceeds to purchase a gift for Turning Point Shelter. Graduates Julie Fry and Heather Lee spearheaded the effort which secured enough money to purchase a refrigerator for the shelter. Turning Point director Sandra Ray was on hand to acknowledge the gift. Graduates participating in the ceremony included Jennifer A. Abbott of Lena, Theresa Ann Berry of Alexandria, Karen Adams Brown of Boyce, Wade Joseph Chatelain of Mansura, RaMona Couvillion Clopton of Alexandria, Tawanda Denise Jones Coleman of Ft. Polk, Brigitte Lynne Curry of Dupont, Carla Wilson Dean of Alexandria, and Carol Bonnette Donaghey of Bordelonville. </p><p>Also, Paulette Morgan Ducote of Pineville, Shane E. Erwin of Pineville, Coralie Vizinat Fontenot of Ville Platte, Julie Richardson Fry of Alexandria, Brooke Leigh Gauthier of Bunkie, Janice Dean Williams Goff of Pineville, Tracy deAnne Love Goudeau of Alexandria, Michelle L. Heaton of Leesville, Kimberly Goff Lachney of Dry Prong, Heather Mire Lee of Alexandria, Stefanie Lynn Manasco Lightfoot of Many, and Candice Renee Blair Lottinger of Pineville. </p><p>Also, Kimberly Diane Masters of Pineville, Barbara Buxton Maxwell of Winnfield, Daphney Paige Mayeaux of Mamou, Jennifer Streetman Norris of Pineville, Penny Dunning Swims Overgaard of Alexandria, Onnalisa Renee Raddatz of Pineville, Christopher M. Reimer of Alexandria, Virginia Elizabeth McCartney Reimer of Pineville, Melissa Marie Scarber of Alexandria, Ramona Blair Sellers of Pineville, Dara Lea Henson Taylor of Elmer, Anthony D. Thompson of Jena, Jan S. Weidner of Alexandria, Charlee Tristan Whiddon of Alexandria, Darren L. Williams of Alexandria, Jessica Danielle Kolb Wooten of Deville, and Emily Allison Carbo Young of Alexandria.