Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Dr. Shonu Nangia Wins Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence

Released: 03/28/2011

The Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence, which represents LSU Alexandria’s most prestigious recognition of a faculty member, has been awarded to Dr. Shonu Nangia, associate professor of foreign languages. Created in 1989, the Bolton Award is presented annually to the faculty member “who best exemplifies the university’s commitment to teaching, service and professional development.”

Nangia, who speaks nine languages, has been teaching French and Spanish at LSUA since 2005. He holds a doctorate in modern languages from Wayne State University and a master’s degree in French translation and interpretation from Jawaharlal Nehru University in New Delhi, India. His ongoing research relates to globalization topics, French and Francophone literature, French and Spanish pedagogy, and technology in language instruction.

Nangia’s published works include articles on Francophone author Tahar Ben Jelloun, Lebanese-French poet Andree Chedid, the fugitive Bangladeshi writer Taslima Nasrin, and emotional intelligence. Nangia serves as faculty advisor to the LSUA Spanish and French clubs, and he has organized the Tournees French Film Festival on campus for the past five years.

The Bolton Award comes with a $1,000 stipend supported by an endowment from the estate of Mrs. James C. Bolton.

Seven endowed professorships were awarded at the annual LSUA Employee Recognition Dinner. Recipients are Dr. Kenneth Sanders, associate professor of economics, Charles Adrian Vernon and William K. Child Jr. Professorship in Business; Dr. Syrous Marivani, associate professor of mathematics, Huie Dellmon Trust Professorship in Science; Dr. Cathy Denison, assistant professor of management, J.H. Johnson Professorship in Business Administration; and Dr. Adena LeJeune, assistant professor of accounting, Jenkins-Mulder Endowed Professorship in Business.

Also, Dr. Elizabeth Beard, assistant professor of English, Mark Eugene Howard Professorship in Liberal Arts; Susan Myrick, associate professor of education, Robert Rife Saunders Professorship; and Dr. Cathy Cormier, assistant professor of nursing, Roy O. Martin Lumber Company Professorship in Nursing.

Proceeds from the endowments are used to support professional development and research projects by faculty recipients.

Two members of the LSUA staff were presented Outstanding Service Awards, which carry a $500 stipend. Kevin Kirk, a custodian for more than 20 years, and Sherry Bovey, assessment/technology coordinator in the Department of Education, were chosen by a selection committee.

Teaching Innovation Awards sponsored by the Eloise Mulder Center for Teaching Excellence were presented to Alicia Book, assistant professor of nursing, and Dr. Susan Sullivan, associate professor of biology.

Dr. Bonnie Hines, director of library services, was honored as Staff Senate Boss of the Year.

Service Learning Recognition honors were presented to Dr. Bob Bush, professor of business; Dr. Delores Harris, assistant professor of education; Missy LaBorde, assistant professor of communication studies; Kionna LeMalle, assistant professor of education; Dr. Melissa Parks, associate professor of kinesiology; Dr. James Rogers, associate professor of history; Dr. Mary Treuting, professor of psychology; Dr. Rob Wright, assistant professor of psychology; Beard, Cormier, Myrick and Nangia.

Faculty and staff recognized for years of service were Roy deVille, 40 years; Clenard Simmons, 25 years; Mary Lemoine and Laurie Tanner, 20 years; James Mitchell, Charles Quinn and Carla Reed, 15 years; Sheryl Herring, Cal Johnston, Lisa Mayeux, Arthur McKneely, David Nassif, M. Sultan Parvez and Sadie Phillips, 10 years; and Troy Armand, Alice Blackwell, Mary Bowie, Reed Crook, Mary Delaney, Richard Elder, Linda Hickman, Wayne McGraw, Tanya Melton, Nangia, Saurabh Singh, Debra Smith and Jeannette Thiels, five years.