Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Tubbs, Bordelon Presented Chancellor's Awards at LSUA Graduation

Released: 05/13/2010

David Tubbs and Amy Bordelon, both of Alexandria, were honored with Chancellor’s Awards for highest grade point average among graduates receiving baccalaureate and associate degrees at LSU Alexandria’s spring commencement. Tubbs, a Novice Division national champion debater in International Public Debate Association competition two years ago, earned a bachelor’s degree in history with a perfect 4.0 GPA, and Bordelon received an associate degree in radiologic technology.

They were among 132 LSUA graduates at the ceremony in the Alexandria Riverfront Center. It brings the number of degrees awarded by LSUA to 6,447 since the university’s founding in 1960.

Cindy Miller, a business administration major from Lecompte, and Aimee Couvillion, an elementary education student from Plaucheville, joined Tubbs as summa cum laude graduates with a minimum composite GPA of 3.9.

Magna cum laude graduates, who compiled a minimum 3.7 GPA, are Whitney Estis, elementary education, Jonesville; Nikki Voinche, elementary education, Mansura; Jessica Wilkes, business administration, Simmesport; Jerry Hollis, business administration, Cottonport; and Felicia Lovelady, business administration, Alexandria.

Cum laude graduates, with a minimum 3.5 GPA, are Kelly Lamartiniere, business administration, Alexandria; Verlie Walters, psychology, Boyce; Brittany Barkdull, communication studies, Alexandria; Lindsay Gremillion, psychology, Plaucheville; and Anjelica Adams, business administration, Forest Hill.

LSU Board of Supervisors chairman Blake Chatelain urged graduates in the commencement address to be “lifetime learners … using that platform to serve their families, communities and country. Some of the happiest and most successful people I know have never stopped learning.” Chatelain told the graduates that they are among “the estimated one percent of the world’s population that has earned a college degree.”

The following are LSUA spring commencement graduates listed alphabetically by city:

Alexandria (baccalaureate) – Brandon Ashley, business administration; Brittany Barkdull, communication studies; Corey Boyd, business administration; Robert Broadwell, psychology; Meagan Chatelain, theatre; Constance Cleveland, business administration; Kelly Lamartiniere, business administration; Felicia Lovelady, business administration; William Martin, psychology; Margaret Mealer, business administration; Tori Revoir, visual arts; Shenica Sanders, psychology; David Tubbs, history; Kara Viator, business administration; Xavier Walker, business administration; and Taylor Ward, business administration.

Alexandria (associate) – Brittany Barkdull, liberal arts; Amanda Blankenship, nursing; Amy Bordelon, radiologic technology; Equilla Cherry, care and development of young children; Ashley Daigle, radiologic technology; Brittany Ducote, pharmacy technology; Kelley Estes, pharmacy technology; Marie Gray, radiologic technology; Megan Haworth, pharmacy technology; Hsiu Chu, nursing; Jerry McGinnis, liberal arts; Huy Nguyen, radiologic technology; Mary Prestridge, liberal arts; Shannon Segura, nursing; Kerri St. Romain, pharmacy technology; Deborah Stanley, care and development of young children; and Jane Trotter, psychology.

Atlanta (associate) – Ronda Walker, nursing.

Ball (associate) – Tamara Chapman, nursing; and Anna Cruse, nursing.

Batchelor (baccalaureate) – Arthur LaCour, criminal justice.

Baton Rouge (baccalaureate) – James Howell, business administration.

Boyce (baccalaureate) – Tequitra Gray, psychology; Verlie Walters, psychology; Emily Welch, elementary education; and Patricia Wooley, criminal justice.

Boyce (associate) – Katie Layssard, pharmacy technology; and Kimberly Ryder, liberal arts.

Bunkie (baccalaureate) – Adriene Strong, business administration.

Bunkie (associate) – Anjell Henry, radiologic technology; and Tangela Sampson, radiologic technology.

Colfax (baccalaureate) – Ernest Lemoine, mathematics; and Julia McLaughlin, criminal justice.

Colfax (associate) – Samantha Clark, nursing.

Cottonport (baccalaureate) – Jerry Hollis, business administration.

Cottonport (associate) – Laquilla Reed, criminal justice.

Deville (baccalaureate) – Jon Fairchild, history; and Jonathan Wiley, criminal justice.

Deville (associate) – Sarah Speer, radiologic technology.

Dry Prong (baccalaureate) – Bethany Thigpen, criminal justice.

Dry Prong (associate) – Julissa Gerena, pharmacy technology; and Grace Robbins, nursing.

Forest Hill (baccalaureate) – Anjelica Adams, business administration.

Georgetown (baccalaureate) – Deanna Wall, psychology.

Georgetown (associate) – Callie Oliver, pharmacy technology.

Harahan (baccalaureate) – Adam Tucker, criminal justice.

Hessmer (baccalaureate) – Kayla Jeansonne, elementary education.

Hessmer (associate) – Noel Juneau, nursing; and Ashley Smith, radiologic technology.

Hineston (associate) – Daniel Brown, radiologic technology.

Jena (associate) – Lyndsey Chapman, nursing.

Jonesville (baccalaureate) – Whitney Estis, elementary education.

Lafayette (associate) – Rebecca Fowles, pharmacy technology; and Latoya Granger, nursing.

Lecompte (baccalaureate) – Brandy Campbell, elementary education; Tiffany Dales, biology; and Cindy Miller, business administration.

Lecompte (associate) – Allison Gaspard, radiologic technology.

Mansura (baccalaureate) – Jessica Loughman, business administration; and Nikki Voinche, elementary education.

Marksville (baccalaureate) – Thomas Laborde, history; and Melvin Young, history.

Marksville (associate) – Blair Batiste, nursing; Sandi Bordelon, radiologic technology; and Jennifer Tremblay, nursing.

Maurice (baccalaureate) – Tyler Price, English.

Melville (associate) – Daphne Frame, nursing.

Monterey (associate) – Chasity Dryg, nursing.

Natchitoches (baccalaureate) – Amy Hastings, psychology; and Heather McCain, psychology.

Oakdale (baccalaureate) – Allison Welch, psychology.

Oakdale (associate) – Andrea Doyle, pharmacy technology; and Denise Marler, nursing.

Opelousas (associate) – Jacqueline Melancon, nursing.

Otis (associate) – Sherry Nichols, radiologic technology.

Pine Prairie (associate) – Meggi Cole, nursing; and Courtney LaFleur, nursing.

Pineville (baccalaureate) – Amy Allen, English; Laura Bailey, psychology; Jessica Evans, English; Christopher Friis, psychology; Makquel Gailes, psychology; Enjoli Graves, visual arts; Lionetha Hudson, communication studies; Tia Johnson, English; Haylee Malone, English; Sarah Massey, psychology; Scott McCoy, history; Amanda Patterson, business administration; Melanie Soileau, business administration; Donna Sturdivant, psychology; and Danielle Sullivan, English.

Pineville (associate) – Brandi French, nursing; Christopher McCain, liberal arts; Ashley Melder, nursing; Mima Montano, nursing; Johnna Odom, pharmacy technology; Amanda Rills, nursing; Casey Rochon, nursing; Adam Roes, nursing; Gladys Schneider, clinical laboratory technology; and Hugh Washburn, nursing.

Plaucheville (baccalaureate) – Aimee Couvillion, elementary education; and Lindsay Gremillion, psychology.

Pollock (associate) – Lane Bowen, pharmacy technology.

St. Landry (baccalaureate) – Susan Forman, business administration.

Simmesport (baccalaureate) – Jessica Wilkes, business administration.

Simmesport (associate) – Joshua Michel, criminal justice.

Simpson (associate) – Joseph Edwards, radiologic technology.

Trout (associate) – Brandi Hebron, nursing; and Ashley Stapleton, liberal arts.

Ville Platte (baccalaureate) – Melissa Soileau, elementary education.

Woodworth (baccalaureate) – Julie Harrison, psychology.

Woodworth (associate) – Lawrence Exe, nursing.