Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Elaine Beck Wins Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence

Released: 03/29/2010

Assistant professor of education Elaine Beck has been named winner of the Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence at LSU Alexandria. It’s the university’s highest recognition for a faculty member.

The Bolton Award for Teaching Excellence is presented annually to a full-time member of the LSUA faculty who “best exemplifies the university’s commitment to teaching, service and professional development.” Beck, in addition to teaching mathematics, science and social studies methods, is responsible for field placement and supervision of LSUA student teachers.

“Professor Beck epitomizes the professional and collegial qualities we seek in our faculty,” said Dr. David Manuel, chancellor. “She is praised by her students. Her LSUA peers have benchmarked against her successes. Her statewide colleagues have recognized her with their own accolades. She is most deserving of this prestigious award.”

Beck, a member of the faculty since 2003, is the most recent recipient of Post-Secondary Educator of the Year for Region VI (nine Central Louisiana parishes) by the Louisiana Association of Computer-Using Educators. Her Science Methods class at LSUA secured a $6,000 grant to purchase an interactive white board for classroom instruction and became acquainted with the grant-writing process.

She also is a former winner of the William Craig Outstanding University Educator Award presented by the Louisiana Science Teachers Association, and she is a former director of the Region IV Science Fair.

“Teacher education students find Elaine Beck to be rigorous, and then they praise her for providing a solid and useful career foundation that includes innovation and creativity,” said Dr. Carol Corbat, interim vice chancellor for academic and student affairs. “She has maintained her keen enthusiasm for teaching every year at LSUA.”

Bolton Award winners receive a minimum $1,000 cash prize, depending on available earnings from the endowment that funds the competition. The last three Bolton Award winners have come from the Department of Education.

Beck, who holds degrees from Northwestern State University and Baylor, was honored at the yearly LSUA Campus Recognition Dinner in the newly renovated Brumfield-Caffey Annex. Saurabh Singh and Donald Elie were presented Staff Outstanding Service Awards. Singh, who is president of the LSUA Staff Senate, is an educational technology specialist, and Elie is a custodian in the Office of Facility Services.

Teresa Seymour, executive director of enrollment management and records/registrar, was named Boss of the Year. Seymour, who has held several leadership positions in her 15-year LSUA career, supervises 20 people in the areas of student recruiting, financial aid and records. She is a two-time winner of the award.

The university recognized Dr. Larry Herrington, professor of mathematics, and Dale Saunders, university policeman, for 30 years of service. Other service recognition went to Dr. Doug Allen, 25 years; Jodeen Milliner and Dessie Williams, 20 years; Dolly Carroll, Dr. Eamon Halpin, Wanda Hickman, Seymour, Dr. Mary Treuting and Beth Whittington, 15 years; and Carla Bowie, Jessie Cormier, Glenna Cornell, Richard Gwartney, Rachael Hunter, Elizabeth Jackson and Dewayne Lair, 10 years. Twenty employees received five-year recognition.

Five retirees also were recognized. They are Dr. Tom Armstrong, vice chancellor for academic and student affairs; Dr. Dorothy Lary, chairwoman of the Department of Nursing; Margaret Ortigo, associate professor of sociology and anthropology; Randal Williamson, director of accounting services; and Howard Jones, custodian.