Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Faculty/Staff Reunion Continues LSUA's 50th Anniversary Observance

Released: 01/04/2010

LSU Alexandria’s year-long 50th anniversary observance continues Friday with a reunion of former faculty and staff, announced Michael Jenkins, chairman of the university’s 50th Anniversary Committee. The observance began on Tuesday with an employee celebration. The faculty/staff reunion will be from 10 a.m. until noon in the lobby of the State Evacuation Shelter adjacent to the campus.

More than 100 former LSUA employees have indicated they will return for the reunion. The program will include presentations from Dr. Dudley Fricke and John Richard, the school’s first registrar and librarian, respectively, and Dr. David Manuel, LSUA chancellor. An historical video also will shown.

LSUA accepted its first students in the fall of 1960 as a two-year institution in the LSU System. Associate degrees have been awarded from the beginning, and LSUA began its four-year undergraduate degree program in 2003 after approval by the Louisiana Legislature. Nearly 700 baccalaureate degrees and more than 6,000 associate degrees have been granted by the university.

Jenkins, who began his college career at LSUA in its first decade, praised “a hard-working subcommittee of former and current LSUA faculty and staff members for making this first event a reality.” The subcommittee consisted of Gloria Shelby, Mary Connell, Patsy Barber, Pattie Killen, Sara Marshall, Susan Myrick, Reba Harrington, Melinda Anderson and Mary McCampbell.