Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Twenty Nonprofit Leaders Chosen

Released: 02/12/2003

<p> Twenty managers, supervisors and board members from nonprofit organizations in central Louisiana have been chosen for the Nonprofit Management 2003 program sponsored by The Rapides Foundation and LSU Alexandria. <p></p> This comprehensive eight-month program features monthly one-day workshops. Topics include personal planning, financial management, board recruitment and development, fundraising, collaboration, strategic planning and program development. <p></p>

The Rapides Foundation sponsors Nonprofit Management 2003 as part of the Community Development Works (CDW) program. CDW is a multi-faceted approach to helping communities with development programs. CDW&acute;s mission is to create and support a community development infrastructure as the primary vehicle for citizen involvement in improving the health and well-being of central Louisiana residents. LSU Alexandria Continuing Education coordinates this component of the program. <p></p>

Participants were selected based on personal and organizational goals, with an effort to create a diverse class of both experienced and new nonprofit leaders. Nonprofit Management 2003 participants are: Karen Aichinger, project manager, coordinator and grantwriter, Natchitoches; Carolyn Breedlove, executive director, Kent Plantation House, Alexandria; Miriam Brown, coordinator, Central Louisiana Medical Library Consortium, Alexandria; Pam Calvit, finance director, Rapides Children&acute;s Advocacy Center, Inc., Alexandria; Melvin Carter, executive director, Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Louisiana, Alexandria; Sammie S. Cicardo, executive director, Handi-Work Productions, Inc., Alexandria; Renee G. Ford, staff accountant/dental operations manager, Catahoula Parish Hospital District #2, Sicily Island; Christy Frederic, board member/charter secretary, Working People&acute;s Free Clinic, Alexandria; Mitzi Gibson, director, Guide to Human Services, United Way of Central Louisiana, Alexandria; LaRunda Hobbs, consultant, HCC Services, Alexandria; Carolyn Hoyt, executive director, Family Counseling Agency, Inc., Alexandria; Sandra Knight, executive director, Avoyelles Society for the Developmentally Disabled, Inc., Marksville; Joyce McElroy, assistant director, Winn Parish Council on Aging, Inc., Winnfield; Steve Mehojevich, program manager, Aftercare Ministries, Inc., Alexandria; Richard Mitchell, branch executive director, YMCA of Central Louisiana, Alexandria; Laverne Paul, president, PBWS, Inc., Jena; David Sikes, executive director, Rapides Children&acute;s Advocacy Center, CASA Program, Alexandria; Debbie Smith, director, Central Louisiana Pro Bono Project, Inc., Alexandria; Beth Westlake, president, Dynamic Youth, Inc., Leesville; JoAnn Woods, president, The Sisterhood Neighborhood Alliance, Alexandria </p>