Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Faculty Awarded Promotion/Tenure

Released: 06/24/2009

Five LSU at Alexandria faculty members have been promoted by the LSU Board of Supervisors, announced Dr. Tom Armstrong, vice chancellor for academic and student affairs. Six faculty members received tenure.

Dr. William Calbeck was promoted to professor of mathematics in the Department of Mathematics and Physical Sciences. Associate professor rank was awarded to Dr. Julie Gill, kinesiology, Department of Education; Sheryl Herring, health sciences, Department of Allied Health; and Rusty Gaspard, reference librarian, Bolton Library. Cathy Robinson, phlebotomy, was promoted to assistant professor in the Department of Allied Health.

Gill, Herring and Gaspard also were among the newly tenured faculty. The others were Dr. Wayne McGraw, chemistry, Department of Mathematics and Physical Sciences; Adena Lejeune, accounting, and Dr. Don Yates, computer information systems, both in the Department of Business Administration.

“Promotion and tenure at this university represent a commitment to developing and maintaining a faculty dedicated to teaching excellence at the undergraduate level. They are achieved only after rigorous and thorough internal review,” Armstrong said. “Candidates also must pass muster from the LSU Board of Supervisors.”

The latest promotion and tenure awards are effective for the 2009-10 academic year.