Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Pinning Ceremony Dec. 17 for Nursing Grads

Released: 12/11/2008

Forty-seven nursing students from LSU at Alexandria will participate in the traditional pinning ceremony Dec. 17, the day prior to their graduation with associate degrees in nursing. The ceremony will be held at 6 p.m. at the Coughlin-Saunders Performing Arts Center in Alexandria.

More than half of the graduates in the university’s history have come from the Department of Nursing. The latest nursing class brings to 3,282 the number of students with nursing degrees from LSUA.

Barbara Odum, who was the first director of the Department of Nursing at LSUA, will be honored at the pinning ceremony, announced coordinator Debbie Smith, assistant professor of nursing. Odum, one of the pioneers in nursing education in Central Louisiana, was the first director of nursing at LSUA from 1964-79. The curriculum for LSUA’s associate degree in nursing was the only one of its kind in Louisiana at its conception and one of 104 such programs in 29 states.

The program received accreditation from the National League for Nursing in 1966, the same year of its first graduating class of 19 students.

Odum, a Lecompte native, received her nursing diploma from Touro Infirmary in New Orleans and earned a bachelor of science degree in nursing from LSU and a master’s in education from the University of Houston. Prior to her appointment at LSUA she was associate director of the National League for Nursing in New York.

LSUA’s latest nursing graduates, listed alphabetically by hometown, are Irene Alexandre, Marcus Blakeley, Yolanda Duncan, Tabitha Dunn, Dennis Flynn, Carla Goodman, Amy Hauser, Kerra Marcotte, Crystal Pennington and Amy Trammel of Alexandria.

Also, Mary Hawthorne and Clarice Hollingsworth of Ball, Amanda Taylor of Bentley, Mika Martin of Boyce, Sherry Cramer of Church Point, Shelley Hebert of Colfax, Peggy Deville of Cottonport, Danielle Broussard of Deville, Magdalene Reynolds of Forest Hill, Stephanie Disatell and Melanie Talbert of Glenmora, Lyndsie Turnage of Jonesville, Eva Guillory of Lecompte, Heather McCool of Leesville, Christina Robinson of Mansura, and Brian Bernard, Jennifer Dauzat, Emilie Dugas and Victoria Ford of Marksville.

Also, Hollie Tassin of Moreauville, Regina Jones and Melissa Thompson of Opelousas, Julie Aguillard, Jeani Deville, Cristy Garcie, Angela Manning, Leslie Smith, Linda Stroud and Matthew Watson of Pineville, Naomi Clark of Plaucheville, Chad Fontenot of Pollock, Brandon Byrd of Saint Landry, Lyndi Roark of Urania, Nikita Ardoin and Robin Deshotels of Ville Platte, Denee Guillote of Winnfield, and Erin Moore of Woodworth