Layout Grid (for development purposes)


LSU Alexandria Honors Students for Outstanding Achievement

Released: 04/07/2003

<p> LSU Alexandria presented awards to 55 students during its 41st Annual Honors Day Convocation on Monday, April 7. Jill Kidder, executive director of the Alexandria/Pineville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau and the Alexandria Riverfront Center, brought the convocation address. <p></p> The Colonel W. R. Middleton Memorial Scholarship for outstanding service to the University and community was presented to two recipients this year. This year&acute;s recipients are Kimberly Rose Patton of Alexandria and John Ross Cady of Lecompte. The Middleton Award, was established in honor of Colonel W. R. Middleton who came to LSUA as a counselor and assistant professor of geography when the University was first established in August 1960. <p></p>

Patton is a general studies major who is an active member on campus and also in the community. At LSU Alexandria, she serves as president of Student Government Association and is a member of the Empty Space Players, and the ONW Computing Club. She is also the chair of the Technology Committee. <p></p>

In the community, Patton is the president of the Family Playhouse Parent Troupe and has been active in the theatre and with fundraisers for the group. She also played in the City Park Players presentation of The Christmas Carol in Dec. 2002. Patton is married and the mother of three children. <p></p>

Cady who is majoring in English has served as the yearbook editor for the current and past school year. He is a member of the Empty Space Players theatre group at LSU Alexandria and serves on the Student Activities Council. He has worked at the Children&acute;s Center on campus and is an English tutor in the TLC Lab. <p></p>

He is a member of Baptist Temple Church where he is active in Sunday School and volunteers with outreach programs of the church. He and his wife are members of the Downs Syndrome Family Support Resource Group, which gives support and advice to other parents of children with Downs Syndrome. Cady is married and the father of two children. <p></p>

The LSU Outstanding Senior College Student Award was presented to Kasi Spann Cader of Jonesville by Dr. James Breyley, Jr. Cader also received the medal for academic excellence in the elementary education discipline. <p></p>

In addition, several awards were presented to students for outstanding community service. Sherry Willson Fuqua of Effie received the Phi Delta Kappa Award for the Most Outstanding Student Teacher from the LSU Teacher Education Program at LSU Alexandria. Hannah L. Howarth of Boyce received the Rapides Medical Alliance Scholarship. <p></p>

Dr. Robert Cavanaugh, chancellor, presented certificates to students who were named to Who&acute;s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. They are Dana Alayne Atwood of Pineville, Jessica Marie Double of Lecompte, Melissa Kaye Hanner of Pineville, Donna Kay Miller of Pineville and Jennifer Deere Monk of Cheneyville. <p></p>

Students also received certificates in recognition of outstanding service as student leaders in campus organizations. The recipients and the respective organizations they are affiliated with are Adrinne LaConnie Eagins of Bunkie-College Democrats; Heather Nichole Knight of Alexandria-Apostolic Student Fellowship; Kimberly Patton of Pineville-Student Government Association; Margaret Elizabeth Rigby of Marksville-Aspiring to be Professional Teachers; Addie Thompson of Lecompte -College Republicans and Joshua William Warren of Pineville-P.E. Majors Club. <p></p>

The Outstanding Club of the Year Award was given to the Criminal Justice Association for contributions to the campus and community service. Also, Leigh Anne Davis of Alexandria was named outstanding Club Leader of the Year for her work with the Criminal Justice Association. <p></p>

Dr. Randall Stovall, vice chancellor of academic affairs, presented medals for academic excellence in various disciplines. The students are listed below, followed by the discipline in which they excelled: Angela Lacey Allred of Pineville-biological sciences; Dana Alayne Atwood of Pineville-early childhood education; Julie Lynn Bordelon of Marksville-computer information technology; David Michael Bordelon of Alexandria-business; Amy Lee Cohen of Alexandria-clinical lab tech; Clifton Roy Doughty of Pineville-computer science; Ward C. Hooter, III of Alexandria-natural science; Marcela Espinel Lawrence of Glenmora-nursing; Hayley Lynn Melancon of Ville Platte-pharmacy technology; Alesha Cha Romine of Alexandria-paralegal; Jessica Suzanne Parker of Colfax-mathematics; Holly L. Pommier of Mamou-radiology technology; Brian Keith Slusser of Pine Prairie-humanities; Joshua William Warren of Pineville-kinesiology. <p></p>

LSU Senior College student Myles Gregory Gilliland of Pineville received a medal for academic excellence in general business. <p></p>

Medals for the highest grade point average (GPA) were awarded to both full- and part-time students. Students are classified as full-time when enrolled in 12 or more credit hours per semester. Part-time students are those enrolled in 6-11 credit hours per semester. <p></p>

Five full-time freshmen were awarded medals for having the highest grade point average in their class. They were Christina M. Mayeaux Dean of Pineville, Cynthia Renee Deville of Ville Platte, Sylwester Lukasz Giemza of Pineville, Eric Wayne Lonidier of Alexandria and Johannah C. Stokes of Alexandria. <p></p>

Mandy Rae Carmouche of Alexandria was honored as the full-time sophomore student with the highest GPA. Kimberly Rose Patton of Pineville was named the sophomore-plus student with the highest GPA enrolled full-time. <p></p>

The following part-time students were also recognized. Danette S. Cormier of St. Landry was the part-time freshmen honored for the highest grade point average in their class. Janice Kay McKay of Dry Prong received honors as the part-time sophomore student enrolled with the highest GPA. Faye Ann Cottrell of Marksville was named the sophomore-plus student with the highest GPA with part-time status. <p></p>

Dr. Randall Stovall, vice chancellor of academic affairs, presented certificates for academic excellence to both full- and part-time students who had maintained a 3.7 grade point average or above. <p></p>

Full-time freshmen honored were Kimberly Erin Baker of Pollock, Clara Gwandiku of Alexandria, Michael Joseph Scheideler of Center Point and Malinda Lee Smith of Forest Hill. <p></p>

Sophomores enrolled full-time receiving certificates were Katherine Anne Brouillette of Marksville, Ian Michael Fontenot of Ville Platte and Joni Michelle McCann of Pineville. <p></p>

Full-time students at the sophomore-plus level receiving certificates were Angela Lacey Allred of Pineville and Amanda Ann Dauzat of Marksville. <p></p>

Freshmen receiving certificates for academic excellence for maintaining a 3.7 grade point average or above while enrolled in 6 - 11 credit hours were Mary Delcomyn Futrell and Tessie C. Holden, both of Pollock. <p></p>

Mr. Kenn Posey, director of student aid and scholarships, presented endowed and community scholarships to seven students. The Frances Sample Bolton Scholarship was given to Denise Michelle Marquiss of Pineville. The James C. Bolton Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Lynette Andrus of Ville Platte. Heather Kay Barnes of Bunkie received the scholarship award from the Huie-Dellmon Trust Scholarship Fund. The Barbara M. Martin Scholarship was awarded to Mandy Rae Carmouche of Alexandria. Sarah V. Beaird of Leesville was awarded the David A. Miller Scholarship. The William and Alice Mildred Morros Scholarship was awarded to Shane E. Erwin of Pineville. The Lavergne L. and D. Merrick Turpin Scholarship was awarded to Rebecca Littleton of Deville and Vanessa Diane Borrel of Effie. </p>