Layout Grid (for development purposes)


4 Professors Appointed NCTE Judges

Released: 03/07/2008

Three English teachers and one education teacher from LSU at Alexandria have been appointed judges in the Achievement Awards Program for the National Council of Teachers of English. The Achievement Awards Program competition, which has been held annually since 1957, honors 11th-grade students in the United States, Canada and American school abroad for excellence in writing.

Dr. Bernard Gallagher, Dr. Alice Blackwell and Elizabeth Beard from the Department of Arts, English and Humanities, and Kionna LeMalle from the Department of Education will judge entries from Louisiana.

The state competition is coordinated by Kimberly Elmore, an instructor in the Department of Arts, English and Humanities. "Our department is very supportive of the National Council of Teachers of English and the impact it has in high schools," Elmore said. "We are eager to assist Louisiana's high school English teachers with this competition."

Gallagher is vice president of the Louisiana chapter of NCTE.