Layout Grid (for development purposes)


Leadership Scholarship Winners

Released: 01/29/2008

Brittany Hightower from Buckeye High School has won a four-year full tuition and fees scholarship from LSU at Alexandria in the university's first Leadership Scholarship competition.

Sam Decuir from the Louisiana School for Agricultural Sciences in Bunkie, Kasey Perkins from Rapides High School, Nicole Kimble from Avoyelles High School, Jennifer Barton from Menard High School and Brittni McWaters from Buckeye High School earned four-year half scholarships.

Participants were graded on an essay and a day-long project to conceive, charter, fund and plan a membership drive for a student organization.

"Our goal was to identify student leaders who have the capacity to help shape our campus as we continue to evolve with our baccalaureate (four-year) degree programs," said Teresa Seymour, director of records/registrar. "We were very impressed with the caliber of the competitors, and we look forward to their impact in and out of the classroom as LSUA students."