Layout Grid (for development purposes)


LSUA Nursing Graduates Participate in Pinning Ceremony

Released: 05/21/2007

LSU Alexandria’s Department of Nursing held a pinning ceremony for its 53 nursing graduates at 6 p.m. Wednesday, May 16, in the gymnasium of the LSUA Fitness Center.

Christy Arnold of Lacamp earned the award for the Highest GPA.

Eddie Williams of Alexandria was selected by his fellow nursing students to receive the Caring Award. This student is an exemplar of the school''s core values that describes, defines, and directs all personal and professional behavior - respect, integrity, professionalism, caring, excellence and diversity.

Leah Perkins of Oakdale was selected by her fellow nursing students to receive the Leadership Award. This student demonstrates a commitment to nursing by influencing those around them in everyday situations. This graduate is an advocate for nursing as a profession and displays the attitude, motivation and stamina to bring nursing into the future.

Regina Lee of Marksville was selected by the nursing faculty to receive the Outstanding Nursing Graduate Award. This award recognizes academic excellence and breadth of knowledge while demonstrating superior accomplishments in both the classroom and clinical settings. The graduate exhibits professionalism, character, scholarship and demonstrates potential for future leadership, as well as community involvement.

The 53 nursing graduates received their pins and then participated in a traditional candle-lighting ceremony. The graduates then recited the Nightingale Pledge in honor of Florence Nightingale, a pioneer and reformer of the nursing profession. The pledge is a variation of the Hippocratic Oath taken by physicians and is a traditional part of pinning ceremonies dating back to the 1800s.

Nursing graduates include (listed by hometown):

Alexandria: Melissa Lynn Coco; Aleshia Dement; Tiffany Elaine Knight Grayson; Teresita Antonia Mira; Tina Renee Parker; Mary L. Ross; Kevin Wayne Weidner; Angela Ann Williams; Eddie A. Williams, Jr.; Elizabeth Marie Willis

Ball: Rebecca Christine Malcomb

Burreville, TX: Stephanie Brooke Hurst

Deville: Christopher M. Hubbard

Dry Prong: Lindsey Kay Danzy

Eunice: Melissa Ann Andrepont

Jena: Jennifer Michele Rabel

Jonesville: Dana Boothe Skinner

LaCamp: Christy L. Arnold

Lecompte: Monica Ann Mundy

Leesville: Karen Michele Hall; Shelly Williams Wanjura

Lena: Tracy DeAnn Beebe

Lettsworth: Ashley Elizabeth Moreau

Mansura: Wesley Charles Gormsen; Susannah Valzie Mae Hart; Tessa Leigh Lemoine; Ross Anthony Schexnyder; Starli Guillory Thibodeaux

Marksville: Jennifer Lynn Barbin; Charissa Lynn Flores; Tracy Lynn Hayes; Regina Oliver Lee; Jeanne Alyce Moreau; Issac Cade Soileau

Moreauville: Candace Caubarreaux Dowden

Morrow: Kendell Rachel Fisher

Oakdale: Ginger McCollough Lanier; Leah Michele Perkins; Shareese Joann Rakestraw; Lacy Jean Strahan

Opelousas: Rosalyn O. Collins

Pineville: Shannon M. Johnson; D’Ann Tower Merritt; Jo Ann Robinson; Tiffany Michelle Teal; Scott Anthony Tumminello; Heather Elise Mitchell Willis

Pollock: Derek Rex Boyd; Constance N. Munson Willett

Sieper: Donna Todd Smith

Ville Platte: Rocky James Catoire; Dana Richard Lavergne

Winnfield: Connie Anyan Durbin

-- 30 --